Google The Dalles: an established campus still needs productive computing
FJI source-qualified: four-document gate met, including project-specific government evidence. Qualification evidence and decisions →
Project status: Existing Google campus; current capacity and workload mix undisclosed. Capacity scope: Current comparable IT capacity not established in reviewed profile. How we verify evidence.
← Back to project indexExpanded analysis · Original disclosures linked below · CAD and USD preserved as labeled · Company statements attributed; interpretations labeled.
The one-minute investment takeaway
Our analysis: The Dalles adds a mature owner-user campus to the atlas. Google’s long local operating history reduces uncertainty about the site’s existence, but it does not establish today’s AI workload, current capacity or site return. The investor test is whether incremental computing improves product economics after energy, cooling and hardware replacement costs.
Readiness basis: Classification of evidence in the reviewed profile; strongest documented phase, not full-campus completion. Existing Google campus; current capacity and workload mix undisclosed Readiness source →
What the sources establish
- Operator / company disclosure Operating history. Google identifies The Dalles as the location where it began building and operating its own data centers in 2006. The location page also records a fourth-building construction milestone in 2015. Primary source →
- Operator / company disclosure Investment scope. The page says Google has invested more than USD 7 billion in Oregon since 2006. That statewide cumulative figure is not the budget for a new individual building, current annual spending or campus earnings. Primary source →
- Operator / company disclosure Resource diligence. Google links a site-specific water profile and water-stewardship material from its location page, but does not disclose current campus IT MW, utilization or an AI-specific share of computing. Primary source →
Who receives the money?
Our analysis of disclosed roles. Revenue routes are business-model interpretations, not estimates of booked project revenue.
| Company / exposure | Economic role | What investors need to establish |
|---|---|---|
| Google / Alphabet | Owns computing infrastructure to support products and services | Incremental product contribution and avoided computing costs after operating and replacement spending. |
| Power and water providers | Potential recurring utility services | Named service contracts, allocated capacity and tariffs before attributing supplier earnings. |
| Construction and hardware suppliers | Potential expansion and refresh orders | Documented procurement; no specific GPU, cooling or electrical vendor is inferred. |
How financially meaningful is it? Analyst interpretation
Our analysis: the corporate return comes through the services using the campus, rather than rent collected from an independent hyperscale tenant. Distinguish a facility expansion from a hardware refresh: both consume cash, but their useful lives and productive output differ. An established site can reuse common infrastructure, yet denser equipment may require power and cooling upgrades that eliminate some apparent savings. A long operating history is valuable evidence of execution, not a guarantee of an attractive return on the next dollar invested. Alphabet’s aggregate growth cannot be assigned to this campus without an attribution method.
Incremental computing benefit = additional product contribution plus avoided external computing expense minus power, water, staffing, network costs, maintenance and hardware replacement. Evaluate each expansion or refresh against its own capital commitment.
Hypothetical illustration: 10 MW of steady IT load at a 1.2 PUE consumes 105,120 MWh annually at the facility level. A USD 10/MWh electricity price change alters annual cost by USD 1.0512 million. Neither the load, PUE nor tariff is disclosed for The Dalles.
Milestones that would change the assessment
| Milestone | Evidence to watch |
|---|---|
| Scope of new spending | A dated phase announcement separating facility construction, hardware replacement and statewide investment. |
| Resource readiness | Usable electricity and water capacity, permit conditions and customer-equipment acceptance. |
| Computing productivity | Evidence of more useful work per dollar and per kWh, with realistic hardware replacement assumptions. |
What could break the investment case?
Our analysis: Cooling and water requirements can change with density and operating conditions. An older building may need substantial modifications before accepting new hardware. Statewide investment and economic-impact estimates can make scale appear financially precise while leaving site returns unknown. Equipment may become obsolete faster than the buildings housing it.
What would change our view?
Our analysis: Disciplined phase spending, resource readiness and improved workload economics would strengthen the case. Rising retrofit costs, idle computing equipment or spending that outpaces monetizable usage would weaken it. We would upgrade AI attribution only with workload-specific evidence rather than assume all Google capacity is AI.
What remains unknown Not established in this review
Current IT and facility MW, occupancy-equivalent utilization, workload mix, new-phase budget, hardware orders, tariffs, measured efficiency and campus-attributable revenue or operating savings remain unestablished by the location page. Map coordinates represent the campus area, not a specific server hall.
Project research for information, not a buy recommendation. Financial illustrations use assumptions, not disclosed site results or management guidance.
Company investor information & quarterly statements
Alphabet
Project / facility operator identified in project-specific source; ownership economics and tenant contracts not certified
Official investor & shareholder information · Quarterly financial statements: 2026 Q2, quarter ended June 30, 2026
Corporate disclosures provide company-wide context. They do not establish this project’s revenue, spending, profit, ownership share or operating capacity. Disclosure verification records →
